Today, Dr. The Honourable Nicolette Henry was accorded a courtesy call by members of the relatively newly formed Guyana National Students’ Organization (GNSO) in the boardroom of the Ministry of Education, 26 Brickdam.

The team comprised of Dornel McFarlane, Orin Alexander, Umadevi Bux, Davion Fredericks, Tiana Archibald and Devta Ramroop.
During the engagement, discussions were had with a focus on the national Education sector. Aside from listening to the many plans and interests of the group, Minister Henry offered guidance and advice to the very amenable group of young Students and professionals.
The GNSO was birthed out of the 2018/19 initiative of the Commonwealth Students’ Association (CSA) Guyana mandate and aims to become the leading body for the championing for a collective voice of students’ from across all the regions of Guyana.
It aims to empower and encourage students to have a coordinated platform in the decision-making process within the education sector; bridging the gap where deemed necessary between the students and main stakeholder —Minister of Education and her Ministry, while developing a partnership for the benefit of all parties involved in promoting quality, accessible, education across the county.
GNSO, according to the group seek to advocate for better educational policies for students, work in partnership with the Ministry of Education and Governing body within the Education Sector; to bridge the gap, be the mediators and for all of the relevant stakeholders within the Education Sector.
In such regards, since the 18th Conference of Commonwealth Education Ministers in Mauritius— where student leaders gathered to make recommendations on the current issues in education and strengthen their role in the Commonwealth Education Sector— the initiative of a National Student body has been adopted, coined, regulated and enforced in over 25 Commonwealth Countries including our Caricom sister countries, in partnership with civil society and governing Ministries of Education.
The GNSO is governed by students for students under the auspices of the CSA.
The Steering Committee members are comprised of Devta Ramroop, Tramaine James, Tiana Archibald, Christopher Alexander, Davion Fredericks, Dwayne Wills, Opa Harris, Dornel McFarlane and Javed Mustapha. The Group is under the stewardship of, Benjamin Fraser – the Caribbean and America’s Representative in the Commonwealth Students’ Association (CSA) and Ms Umadevi Bux – Guyana’s Representative in the Commonwealth Students’ Association.